top of page

Tranquila

Monday, June 5, 2017

Today was the first day of internship! I started off today excited but nervous. As I touched upon in my last post, I am working with the San Rafael Hospital in the special education school program.

First thing this morning, I am given a white coat to wear that signifies I am a volunteer and approachable to anyone. I was shown a few classrooms and chose to be in the "tranquility" room. This room is usually kept darker and with music playing to keep the children calmer while also stimulating them to learn and interact. It's important for many of the disabilities to remain calm and without startling sounds. Of the four children that are normally there, only three came to school today.

We started the day by greeting the kids and making sure their daily morning needs are met. Then one child takes a nap while another works with physical therapy and the last child practices posture. It's quite the routine, and doesn't sound like it's too challenging, but each child comes with their own mannerisms that need to be addressed in what you and I may think are simple tasks.

Recess seems to be everyone's favorite time. The classes are kept quite small but during recess all f the classes are able to be outside together. You can see the happiness that the kids have when they are next to a friend. Many can't communicate with more than a smile or holding of a hand. But it's the sweetest thing that you'll ever see. This is, personally, my favorite time, too. Soccer, basketball, tag- it's all awesome. I interact with so many children that are just so happy to outside and playing. It really puts a perspective on life. Soccer and basketball are the children's most favorite games.

As a society, I feel like everything is rushed- hurry and eat, get to work, get home, clean, blah blah, do it again. Boring. There's no true happiness in a schedule like that! People's time is not appreciated in such a rushed system; always here and then gone again. In general, I think all kids are kind of in a happiness bubble, but these kids are different. They bring joy and excitement to the smallest of things. Your time is valued and appreciated. Every moment is theirs and it is a beautiful thing.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Now that I've been here a couple days, I have been able to get used to the morning routine. The kids respond to my face and voice with smiles and laughter. Alice* loves hugs and always stretches her arm around you for a hug. Music brings her to life. The welcome/good morning song has Alice* clapping and smiling the whole time. The best part about children is their innocence and love for life and learning. As a nursing student, I work with the physical therapists to help with posture and bracing. Feedings have also been added to my daily activity. Each child has different swallow precautions and food needs. Something the children have taught me is patience. Patience in song, patience in recess, patience in eating, patience in life. I've truly been blessed to whiteness and be able to enrich the lives of these children. Not only have I added to their lives, but they've improved my life, too.

If you know me, I am constantly moving, planning, and working- either at my own jobs or on creating something. It's hard for me to take the time to slow down because then I feel useless! My mother always says to me, "Chiara, how long are you home for this time? I never know if you're coming or going." Well, she's not wrong. I am always in and out, bouncing around from home to school to work...to Granada! It's been hard to stop and just be in the moment.

I've been battling my emotions during this internship because, at first, I wasn't sure I was going to be capable or good enough. I came to learn that I don't need to be good enough. It's the presence, laughter, smiles, and interaction that is needed the most. This internship has taught me to slow down and appreciate. Whether it's the fact that the sun is shining, there's air conditioning, or the simple act of communication and interest, being in the moment is a wonderful thing. Since being here, my fiance has been deployed. One of the last things I said to him was, "I hope you can find beauty in your day. Beauty in nature, beauty in the night time, beauty in color or landscape. I pray that you find the smallest bit of beauty in every day even if it's a bad day."After I said that, it made me think about what I am doing and how I am interpreting each day. I've challenged myself to do the same. It can be hard- let's face it, when it's 100 degrees, fans and air conditioning are just about the only things that are beautiful. However, whomever may be reading this, I challenge you to find the beauty in your day no matter how big or small it may be, each day is filled with beauty.

*Names have been changed for purposes of identity.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page