top of page

It was only 38 degrees...in Celsius..

I just got back to my house after exploring the city of Seville, Spain today! On Friday, a couple of the girls wanted to adventure to Seville and asked me to join. I won't lie, I was pretty hesitant. Not only was it going to cost me money (yikes!), but none of the accommodations or plans were finalized! I love to plan things, but since I wasn't the one planning I had to wait for it to be done for me. That was a lesson in itself, let me tell you. Thankfully, Caroline was super sweet about it and kept me updated as she was booking things.

I didn't take a picture of where we stayed, but it was a hostel/hotel/apartment that we were at. We were on the top floor and had a bathroom, two beds, and our own terrace! It was pretty sweet. After taking a few minutes to regroup- I mean, we did get there at 10:30pm- we decided to go out for food! I ended up not eating anything because I ate a sandwich on the bus, but we went to an Irish Pub and Ellie got fish and chips- it was good. I almost got the apple pie and ice cream- but I didn't... Good thing, too, because today's desert was so much better.

The Guadalquivir is the fifth longest river in the Iberian Peninsula and the second longest river with its entire length in Spain.

This morning we went for a walk around the river (pictured above). It was so beautiful! We went across a bridge that led us to a smaller city/town. There was a cute art show in the street and locals were out with their art and handmade crafts. People are very talented. Then we continued our walk through the neighborhoods and down to another bridge to lead us to Plaza de España. Before getting there, we went through this beautiful garden (pictured below).

Parque de Maria Luisa

I took this picture of the dove sitting on the edge of the water pool. It was so beautiful and peaceful. It almost looks like something from a fairytale. It wasn't a garden like the Maine Botanical Gardens; but, more of a natural garden with beautiful wonders, bridges, fountains, and animals.

This picture is of me! I was standing in front of the Plaza de España. It was so much bigger than it looks! It wraps around in a half circle shape. It was built in 1929 as an exhibition for other buildings and their architecture. It is sometimes referred to as the Spain Square. Around the base of the semi-circle, are tiled murals of all of the different provinces of Spain.

You wouldn't believe the architecture and design in these buildings. They are unreal. It's so amazing how people were able to build these massive structures without the technology that we have today. The patience that goes into each piece is incredible. It's too bad that people don't take the time to continue beautiful work like this.

This (above) was delicious gelato! The white center is vanilla, orange is mango!, and red was raspberry. It was so good I can't even tell you. It was melting really fast though because it was 100 degrees! I was literally sweating...it was gross. But the gelato was really good and definitely worth the 3,60€... After gelato, we walked over to the Seville Cathedral. It is the largest gothic cathedral in Spain. Absolutely stunning. You can climb to the top of one of the towers and it serves as an overlook to the city. Below are a couple pictures:

Even though this was just a short day trip- it was incredible. Having the chance to explore another city in a country I have never been to is simply amazing. I am so blessed to be able to have the opportunities that I have been given. I encourage everyone to get out there and go explore! Whether it is a new place in your state, country, or in another country-- exploring is amazing.

SaveSaveSave

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page