top of page

Semana 2

In this very moment, my body is resting on a rainbow-spotted, hunter green bust seat. Thankfully, I am surrounded by three friends and Spanish locals that keep me alert. To my left and to my right I can see the breathtaking Spanish countryside. I am currently en route to visit sunny and spectacular Seville. This trip was rather spontaneous and I will have approximately 24 hours to explore the charming city.

Long bus rides tend to be where I take time to reflect on my day, week, and life because essentially all I can do is sit, listen, think, and observe. Last semester, in Italy I rode on a bus once or twice a week. Believe it or not, I always looked forward to those long drives. Now, It's been roughly 20 minutes since beginning the three hour pilgrimage to Seville. So far I've been lost in contemplation about my life and how it compares and contrasts with the students, at the school I am volunteering at, here in Granada.

First, I'd like to provide you with some information about the population I am working with. The school in located on the premise of the San Rafael Hospital, in Granada, and it is free of charge for all students. This school is specifically for kids and teenagers who require special education. The school is equipped to meet behavioral, mental, and physical needs of the students. The level of abilities range: for instance only some are able to walk, talk, and see. I am volunteering in a classroom where many of the students have cerebral palsy, epilepsy, and mental illnesses. The students in my classroom range from ages 12-16.

I have only worked with these students for four days but I have been amazed by them. One student for example, cannot walk, talk, or feed himself but his big brown eyes are so full of wonder. His eyes constantly move from left to right following whatever object is in view. He often wears a wide smile on his freckled face.

One out of the six students in my class is able to walk. She loves to eat...truly a girl after my own heart. I've assisted her during lunch a few times and in the few short days, I've been there she's learned to calm down when eating, eat slower, and clean the side of the spoon before taking a bite. She gets extremely excited before and during lunch because she simply loves to eat.

Working in a special education school has shown me how essential and powerful our senses can be. For example some people in my classroom rely on touch to communicate, while others depend on sound.

My experience working with this population has helped me acknowledge my unearned privileges. I am an able bodied, human being who is perfectly healthy and has the use of all my senses. All of these qualities I was born with. I did nothing to gain these privileges. My world is so big. I technically suffer no physical limitations.

I live a life full of experience

s, opportunities, adventures.

I am built to thrive in society and society is designed to cater my needs. The same can't be said about the students at the school. For example, some of them have to worry if the restaurant they are going to will have a ramp, or if the menu will have Braille, or if the employees will have the skills to serve a customer who has behavioral issues.

One girl in my classroom celebrated her 12th birthday last week. The room was full of staff and students celebrating her life. She and many of us enjoyed pieces of a cake, and we could all hear in the background the voice of Elsa singing "let it go" one of the birthday girl's absolute favorite songs...in Spanish of course. That day and everyday the people at the school recognize the gift of her life.

I recently learned that when she was young she had cognitive disabilities but was able to walk. She unfortunately fell ill and eventually the illness resulted in her losing her ability to walk. This news upset me and left me lost in thoughts. I couldn't imagine knowing what it is like and what it feels like to walk and then have it taken from me, especially at such an early age. If I had gotten that same illness, I would not have been able to hike through the Sierra Nevada this morning, nor spend the entire day tomorrow walking through the city of Sevilla.

I can't help but feel bad for her and for the other students. I'm not sure if sadness is a proper emotion to feel. If you have any advice or knowledge about what my emotions towards this population should be please share, I would love to learn.

In my social work classes my professors always emphasize the importance of recognizing a person's human dignity, as well as being empathetic. In this case, I've found it challenging to empathize because it is difficult to put myself in their shoes. I'm trying so hopefully one day I will succeed.

The four days I've spent with the students has left me in contemplation for hours and days. They have already taught me valuable lessons about how are differences help unite us.

(The photo above was taken from google)

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page