top of page

Corpus Christi Week

Week 3 was full of new adventures and experiences. It was the week of Corpus Christi which is the biggest holiday in all of Granada. It was really cool to experience. All the businesses and schools close for the week (which means no internships for us this week) and there's lots of celebrations and parades going on leading up to the actual holiday on Thursday. On Thursday I went to the Corpus Christi mass, and even though I couldn't understand any of it, it was an interesting experience. I was not used to going to mass in such a large church with a lot of people so that was a different experience for me. Another thing that was different is receiving communion. Back home, there's an order to receiving communion and that is you wait until the people seated in front of you get up to go before you get in line. Here in Granada there is no order. It's every person for themselves. Everyone swarms around the priests and there are no lines what so ever. Everyone's shoving to get communion and at one point I got body slammed by a nun. I'm sure she didn't mean to though. At the end of the mass the priest puts the eucharist in a float that is carried around by like 30 men and that's when the procession starts with the eucharist as the caboose of the parade. It was really cool because there's little stops the float would make along the way and when the float stopped everyone else in the parade stopped. Another thing that happens in the procession is that anyone that had their first communion that past year gets to walk in the parade. It was all very interesting and cool to experience. Another thing we did is we went to a flamenco show which was amazing. They were so talented and I have no idea how they move their feet and bodies that fast! At the end they invited people to come up and dance with them and I did. It wasn't good but whatever it still counts.

Today my pool finally opened up so that was nice to lay in the sun next to the pool. It's strange though because they don't have chairs by the pool. Instead they have one side with artificial grass, and the other with real grass. My friends and I made the mistake of bringing white blankets and sitting on the actual grass side. Now our towels look like they have poop stains on them because there was a bunch of mud on the grass side haha. It also thundered and was really windy here at my house and I was really excited! I sat out on my patio and watched it because thunderstorms are my favorite!

Tomorrow we are going to the beach and I am so excited because I got this new beach cover up which is so cute and even though I wore it today to the pool I am excited to wear it to the beach!

Well I've got to pack for the beach.

Until next week,

Megan

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page