top of page

Vamos a la Playa

This past weekend my eyes gazed upon the crystal clear turquoise sea, my ears heard the roar of the surf, my nose was hit with the aroma of salt, and my skin absorbed the heat from the sun and the lava like rocks. Our long awaited trip to Almuñécar took place on Saturday and Sunday of last week. Eight of us piled into the van like sardines and we began our journey to the beach. Some had the surreal and enchanting experience of swimming in the Mediterranean Sea for the first time, while myself and others gladly submerged ourselves into a familiar water. Some suffered the consequences of red, lobster-like skin because it is easy to overlook how much stronger the sun is here than in Maine. I would argue that all in all, each and every one of us felt the magical pull of the Mediterranean Sea. If you went to the beach looking for me, you could find me in two places: floating in the water until my whole body became pruny like raisins or tanning on the shore soaking in the sun's rays and listening to the waves crash. I am so incredibly at peace in those two locations. My body and mind are at rest. I am carefree.

The weekend at the beach was a highlight of my experience in Granada thus far because we had the space, time, and opportunity to truly bond as a group. Due to the lack of wifi, we were granted time to truly actively listen to one another and be present in the moment. We enjoyed card games, a mind game (that was incredibly difficult...thanks Mike), and we came together to cook a stellar build your own burrito bar!

While I spent the weekend with the group, at mass I had some time alone to reflect. Well I would be lying if I said I was alone at mass. I was accompanied by what seemed like the entire elderly population of Almuñécar, Mike, Rut and her family, and the priest haha. After mass, I headed down to the beach with the others and enjoyed my last day at the beach in who knows how long. I have been in Europe for the past five months and in this long span of time, I have been able to swim in the Sea multiple times. I am grateful every time I get to dip my toes in the water, and it is a painful reality that I will soon be saying “adios” to a body of water that provides me with such joy, peace, and comfort. However, I am fortunate enough to have been able to spend the weekend at one of my most treasured places in good company!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page