top of page

Live in the Moment

There was a moment this weekend where time slowed down, where everything moved in slow motion and I stopped thinking about the past or future and I could just breathe. We were on the beach in Barcelona, fireworks exploding all around us and I leaned back and filled my lungs with the salty sea air. The world around me slowed and it was then that I took in every last piece of that moment and held it in my heart. It was the purest form of perfection and I couldn't have wished for anything better. I was just there, living, waves crashing, sand in between my toes, fireworks falling and friends around me. It was one of the best moments of my life.

That slow moment didn't last long though because this past weekend was all about squeezing in as much as possible into the 72 hours we were there and I don't regret a thing. The first thing we did after hopping off the plane was visit the famous Park Güell and Gaudi's house inside of it. That was when I first realized I truly looked up to this man. His craftsmanship, devotion and style were more than I could have dreamed to have seen. I loved the mosaics and the curves in his design. It really speaks to his imagination and how he thought. That night we took the metro to the beach because we heard of the celebration that was going on for Saint John and it wasn't understated as you heard above.

The next day was the day I had been waiting for for years. The day I finally would get to set foot in La Sagrada Familia. And it blew my expectations out of the water. It's honestly so hard to write about it because there are no words to describe the way I felt when I walked in. I have always had such a deep connection with nature ever since I was little and seeing this masterpiece that resembled nature made my heart stop. I was amazed at how incredible it felt to be in there. I loved the way he made the modern lines climb up to the ceilings and the branches that made it feel like trees. The stained glass painted a beautiful visual on the walls and pillars that made the place glow in an indescribable way. I definitely want to go back with the project is finished and I can see his dream become a reality.

The week leading up to our trip was packed full of photography. I have moved away from the design portion of my internship and more into photography. I started doing photo shoots with all the girls in my group and they all came out amazing. I love portrait photography and I am so glad I have the opportunity to practice and get better. My most successful shoot had to be Meg's. I came out with 45 perfect images of her. She is willing to be my model for future shoots as well and I will definitely take her up on that.

I am so grateful for this opportunity and it feels unreal that next week is my last week. I'm ready to make it amazing.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page