top of page

La Última Semana

I spent my last week interning at a home for the elderly because school was out for the summer. Saying goodbye to the students at the school was difficult for me because I loved working with them each day. However, I viewed this as an opportunity to explore working with a new population; one that I feel particularly connected to.

My last Monday in Granada marked my first day of volunteering, at the assisted living facility. On that Monday, as I sat around in a big circle surrounded by the elderly people, memories of my grandma came flooding back. I spent the first 18 years of my life with my grandma. She lived with me for a majority of that time and I spent most days enjoying life with her. She was the greatest blessing in my life. My grandma was my best friend and mentor. When I was young she cared for me, fed me, drove me here and there, healed me when I was sick, and she educated me on our Italian heritage and family traditions. When she and I both got older, I was finally able to help and assist her...something I’ve always wanted to do because she never failed to help me. Then it became my job to drive her to the grocery store, hold her hand as we crossed the street, put on and tie her shoes so she wouldn’t have to bend down, and other small daily tasks.

My grandma taught me to be patient, compassionate, empathetic, and grateful. Living with an older person is like living with a breathing history book. My grandma educated me about what life was like during her younger years and how society has evolved over time. She gave me so much, but most importantly she gave me her love. She has been absent in my nineteenth year of life, which has been extremely difficult and painful. This past year I have experienced for the first time what it is like to no longer receive her love. This past year I have had little to no contact with the elderly and a part of my heart has felt vacant. However, my week spent with the elderly of Granada helped heal some of my sorrow. The men and women I volunteered for reminded me of the unique and precious love only a grandparent can give. During that week I felt as if I gained a dozen grandparents. At the residency I got to color, play memory games, chat, and attend mass with them. I was eager to participate in all these activities because I knew I would be in such joyous company.

My week with the elderly truly allowed me to acknowledge my passion and love for working with this population. Saying goodbye to them was hard for me because I was leaving a group of people who I quickly I came to love and appreciate. However, my exit from the home was quite the opposite of sad because I was smothered in hugs and kisses and plenty of words of affirmation. The group I worked with at the home conveyed a multitude of wonderful qualities. They were supportive of each other, kind to one another, loving, and cheerful. They were a highlight of my time in Granada and I am so thrilled I was able to spend my last week with them.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page