top of page

Week 3

The beginning of this week my host family celebrated a birthday for their friend and it was so fun! It was cool seeing all the different traditions that they had. Some were similar to America and some were not. It was great being around such a loving and caring community that they share between each other.

This week has been quite eventful. It’s Corpus Christi week and I’m not going to explain what that is since whoever is reading this has probably read all the other six entries explaining what it is so I won’t bore you. Basically it’s huge festival where everyone dresses up in fancy flamenco dresses and goes out and parties but the deeper meaning was celebration of Christ. We all went to our internships for the first two days but I chose to work on Wednesday as well. We went to various parades and it was cool to see everyone dressed up. Each parade had a different focus. It seemed that one day was more geared towards the kids one day was more for the adults that was the real reason why Corpus christi is celebrated.

I have been spending a lot of a time with my host family and went to Mass twice this week. It has been great learning from them, improving my Spanish and teaching them some English. The rest of the group has been going to the fair but I have yet to do so. I am excited since tonight is the last night to go.

My favorite things I have loved to do now is visit the park and sit and listen to who is performing. It’s cool to see who decides to play and what type of music they choose to share.

We visited a place yesterday with amazing flowers and architecture: the Alhambra. It was cool exploring through this area where there are many buildings. It is immaculate and all decked out. The court areas were beautiful.

Since I am right near the Cathedral, I have been able to see amazing performances each night. Young and old performers do traditional flamenco in groups. It looks like a lot fun. In high school I took dance for 4 years and loved performing for my school twice every year!

One day we all went to a science museum. It was really cool, basically like any museum in America BUT this one had a section with animals. Since I miss my two puppies at home, I was grateful to spend some time with some other fury creatures. We saw different birds and otters they were all so cute!

I have been going before my curfew time to get ice cream this week and have found that they have frozen yogurt. This frozen yogurt is amazing and I get it with M&M’s and chocolate sauce. But I have to be careful. I shouldn't have too many of those for these five weeks along with the bread and everything else I might be coming back to America with another me attached, haha.

Another thing I love is my host family and our meals together: usually lunch and dinner. I have been trying to spend more time with them and going for lunch as respect for them for making me this food to eat. Plus we have new visitors and guests staying with us. I want to show my face as they have been interested in what I'm doing here. One of them even lived in Boston, Massachusetts for 15 years so that has been cool to chat about since I am from there. Along with meeting new guests, its intriguing to see what food they have prepared for us since I never know what it is going to be. Even if I don't like something I will eat it and try to convince myself to like it since I want to be as adaptable as possible and not make a fuss being a guest in there home.

Tags:

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page